Australia Round Three – Third Times a Charm Right?

It’s been a while since I have last connected with you all about what I have been up to lately. I feel as though this is the perfect post to start up my blogging craze again.  Following my return from the “Best Jobs in the World” competition this past June 2013, I was immediately off on another adventure; an adventure very different than “Best Jobs.” I was off to Boston, Washington D.C, NYC and New Jersey for three weeks as a trip leader for a high school Community Service trip. 

972047_643358359009490_1069235873_n

While I was away, I couldn’t help but constantly think about Australia and how I yearned to be back there as soon as possible. I found it difficult at first to be fully immersed in the experience that I was undergoing, as my mind and heart was set on Australia. You could say I was going through serious withdrawal… My withdrawal became so severe that I began to reconsider a few plans that were currently set for my immediate future. I had been enrolled in Teacher’s College and was suppose to begin my studies in Intermediate/Senior Physical Education and Geography in September. After finally piecing together my many thoughts and feelings, it became very clear to me that I didn’t want to be a teacher. I realized that the main reason I chose “teaching” was solely based off the idea I wanted a way to justify my “wanderlust,” and I believed I could do that by supplementing my travel expenses with teaching worldwide. However it occurred to me that if I really just wanted to travel the world… why don’t I simply do that?

Greg Snell (Best Jobs – Wildlife Caretaker) stated it perfectly to me on a Skype call we had not to long ago; “I once considered teaching because it was one of the only jobs that would allow me enough time off in a year to travel, but then I realized all I really wanted to do was travel… so I did.” My mind has revisited that Skype conversation that we had many times, and it has helped me immensely in making many decisions I’ve had about the next chapter of my life post graduation.

I know that it may sound extremely crazy and slightly impractical at this stage of my life but the final decision I made was to decline my acceptance to Teacher’s College and move back to the country I adore – I’ll give you three guesses what that country is…You guessed AUSTRALIA right? Well if you did – way to go! If you didn’t… you obviously don’t following me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or any form of social media… it’s all I talk about.

Let’s now fast-forward about a month and we are sitting on the date of August 16th 2013… two months away from the biggest and most drastic (but AWESOME) move of my life. Leaving around the 15th of October, I will board a flight from Toronto Pearson International Airport and jet off for the adventure of a lifetime: This spontaneous-Canadian-wanderer is Sydney, Australia bound indefinitely! As cliché as the saying is: YOLO – and I want to live it to the fullest. Are you ready to join me for the ride?

auzzzzz

Travelling requires a certain amount of planning. Before we discuss all the “fun” stuff surrounding my move – I think it is smart to highlight some of the technical and logistical aspects of leaving one’s home country to reside in another for an extended period of time. First thing that was on my checklist was applying for my Working Holiday (Temporary) Visa – Subclass 417. This visa is meant for people between the ages of 18 -30 who are interested in supplementing their “holiday” in Australia with short-term employment. Within minutes of answering a few questions and filling out a simple application… my visa had been approved. It took less than three minutes to be granted permission to live, work and study in Australia for up to a year! I was amazed by how fast and easy it was to get, and made me wonder why more Canadians don’t consider doing a WHV in Australia. For more information on the Canadian and Working Holiday Visa connection, make sure you check out my previous interview with “Best Jobs in the World” winner Greg Snell.

Now with my Visa sorted out, I knew I had to get the ball rolling in seeking out jobs in Sydney. Apparently my Australian luck struck again as I received an email I had been waiting for from a backpacker adventure travel company that I had applied to a while back. It was to schedule a Skype interview for a position in their Sydney City shop as a travel consultant and on-field travel blogger. Talk about the perfect job for me! I’m going to cut to the chase now and say that I got the job and will officially be starting in mid October as Peterpans Adventure Travel’s newest employee!

20130817_152259

What is Peterpans Adventure Travel?

They are the leading brand in adventure travel for the student, backpacker or “young at heart” traveller. With 18 shops located all across Australia (Sydney, Melbourne, Darwin, Gold Coast, Cairns,  Perth, Adelaide, etc) and a 2 located in New Zealand (Auckland, Queenstown) … Peterpans Adventure Travel specializes in providing the best deals and packages for all travellers within Australia, New Zealand and Fiji. Whether you are looking for a day trip to Phillip Island (VIC), an Outback Rock Tour to the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park (NT) or a 2 night, 2 day sailing adventure through the majestic Whitsunday Islands (QLD), Peterpans will be able to plan the perfect trip to suit you!

With my visa approved and a job secured, things are starting to become more real each and everyday. I look at my calendar and realize that 2 months is not a lot of time to plan, pack and say all my “see you laters” before I leave. There are still lots of things to do and I can’t wait for everything to fall nicely into place.

It’s going to be one hell of a ride and I hope you are there to join me.

Sam Clarke.

Leave a Reply

